Religion

Religious concerns of Swiss Jews are represented integratively by the SIG towards competent authorities. For this purpose, the organisation maintains constant contact with the responsible offices and institutions.

One of the key tasks of the SIG is to maintain a reliable supply of kosher meat. Shechita (the ritual slaughter of animals according to Jewish rites) is prohibited in Switzerland, and so all kosher meat has to be imported from outside the country.

The SIG also deals with issues affecting the special needs of Jews in the armed forces, those on community service in lieu of military service as well as of schoolchildren and students. The problems linked to Shabbat dispensation regularly necessitates the SIG's intervention.

Funding the Interest Group for Kosher Foodstuff

The SIG largely funds the activities of the Interest Group for Kosher Foodstuff. Its responsible officers check whether commercially available products are suitable for use in kosher households.

The SIG is also responsible for managing the Jewish Cemetery at Davos (established 1931).

  • Festivals and Holidays

    The holidays prescribed by the Torah are divided into two groups: the three pilgrimage festivals (Passover [Pesach], Shavuot and Sukkott) and the ‘High Holidays’ (Rosh Hashana and Yom Kippur). Hanukkah and Purim are celebrated in memory of joyful events. The 9th of Av (Tisha Be’Av) and other fast days commemorate sad events.

    more

  • Kosher Meat

    According to the Torah (5th Book of Moses 12:21) the only meat allowed to eat is that of certain mammals, birds and fish. With the exception of fish, the animals must be slaughtered ritually in accordance with the religious laws and practices.

    more

  • Dispensation

Religion

Die religiösen Belange der Schweizer Juden werden gegenüber den zuständigen Behörden einheitlich durch den SIG vertreten. Er pflegt zu diesem Zweck den laufenden Kontakt mit den verantwortlichen Ämtern und Institutionen.

Zu den Kernaufgaben des SIG gehört die sichere Versorgung mit Koscherfleisch. Weil das Schächten von Säugetieren in der Schweiz verboten ist, muss alles Koscherfleisch aus dem Ausland importiert werden.

Weiter befasst sich der SIG mit Fragen rund um die besonderen Bedürfnisse von jüdischen Armeeangehörigen und Zivildienstleistenden sowie von Schülern und Studierenden. Die Problematik der Schabbat-Dispense erfordert in diesem Bereich immer wieder Interventionen.

Finanzierung der Interessengemeinschaft für Koschere Lebensmittel

Zudem finanziert der SIG zu einem guten Teil die Aktivitäten der Interessengemeinschaft für Koschere Lebensmittel. Deren Verantwortliche überprüfen die im allgemeinen Handel erhältlichen Produkte auf ihre Tauglichkeit für den koscheren Haushalt

Dem SIG obliegt ausserdem die Verwaltung des seit 1931 bestehenden jüdischen Friedhofes Davos.

  • Festtage

    Der jüdische Kalender rechnet den Tag vom Abend bis zum nächsten Abend. Das jüdische Jahr ist ein Mondjahr, bestehend aus jeweils bei Neumond beginnenden Monaten zu 29 oder 30 Tagen. Weil alle Feste an bestimmte Jahreszeiten gebunden sind, wird dem normalen Jahr zu zwölf Monaten (ca. 354 Tage) alle zwei oder drei Jahre ein zusätzlicher Monat angefügt (Schaltjahr mit ca. 384 Tagen).

    mehr

  • Koscher

    Gemäss der Thora (5. Buch Moses 12:21) sind zum Verzehr durch Menschen nur Säugetiere, Geflügel und Fische erlaubt. Diese müssen, mit Ausnahme der Fische, gemäss den religionsgesetzlichen Vorschriften geschlachtet («geschächtet») werden.

    mehr

  • Dispensen